Matthew Condon

Matthew-CondonMatthew Condon is a prize-winning Australian novelist and journalist.  Educated at the University of Queensland and the Goethe Institute, Germany, he is the author of ten novels and short story collections including The Lulu Magnet, A Night at the Pink Poodle, The Motorcycle Café and The Pillow Fight.

The Trout Opera, an epic novel that took him more than ten years to write, examines the Australian character through its chief protagonist Wilfred Lampe, a rabbiter and farm hand who spends his entire life in the township of Dalgety, on the banks of the Snowy River. The Sydney Daily Telegraph described the novel as “an instant classic”.

In 2013, Condon published Three Crooked Kings, the first part of a biography of former Queensland Police Commissioner Terry Lewis who was charged in 1989 and later jailed on multiple corruption charges. The book was based on Condon’s extensive interviews with Lewis and others as well as archival material. The biography is continued in Jacks and Jokers (2014) and All Fall Down (2015).

Beginning his journalism career with the Gold Coast Bulletin in 1982 and subsequently worked for leading newspapers and journals including the Sydney Morning Herald, the Daily Telegraph and Melbourne’s Sunday Age, Condon is currently on staff with the Courier-Mail’s Qweekend magazine.  He is the author of ten books of fiction, most recently The Trout Opera (Random House, 2008) and the non-fiction book Brisbane, (New South Books, 2010).

Published Works

  • The Motorcycle Cafe
  • Usher
  • The Ancient Guild of Tycoons
  • A Night at the Pink Poodle
  • The Pillow Fight
  • Lime Bar
  • The Trout Opera
  • Mulligan: On Being a Hack Golfer
  • Brisbane
  • Three Crooked Kings
  • Jacks and Jokers
  • All Fall Down

This year Matthew Condon is sponsored by Ken & Marg Gilberd